New SENGinar: Talking With Teens

Talking with Teens

Date: December 20, 2012
Time: 7:30 p.m.-9 p.m. Eastern / 6:30 p.m.-8 p.m. Central / 5:30 p.m.-7 p.m. Mountain / 4:30 p.m.-6 p.m. Pacific
Presenter: Jean Peterson, PhD

When adults are serious about attending to social and emotional needs of gifted kids, their own self-awareness and skills can help them avoid inadvertently squelching, patronizing, judging, viewing them narrowly, or even being unhelpfully “in awe.” Paying attention to their own biases can also help adults avoid inhibiting kids’ willingness to engage and show appropriate vulnerability.

Learn how to engage gifted adolescents so that conversation is meaningful and satisfying to both teens and adults, is focused on more than just performance or non-performance, is “real,” builds mutual trust, and is “generative.” Parents, relatives, teachers, coaches, directors, and other invested adults can all benefit from stepping back and, if needed, purposefully altering patterns of interaction in the interest of supporting them effectively.

http://www.sengifted.org/senginar-dec2012

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Parent Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s