Gifted Haven: Online Forum for Gifted Teens

From the Gifted Haven website:

“For [gifted children and adults], problematic behavior patterns typically are greatly reduced or disappear entirely when the person interacts with other gifted persons.” —Misdiagnosis and Dual Diagnoses of Gifted Children and Adults

“Haven is just what what the name suggests – a safe place for gifted youth who feel like they don’t fit in anywhere else”–Firefly, Havenite since 2009

The heart and soul of Haven are the forums, where years of members have deposited their reflections and offered each other understanding on life, giftedness, the world, and how to live in it. We welcome members of all ages although current membership is concentrated in the 12 to 20 range, and many members have never been IQ tested or otherwise “proven” gifted–our purpose is to help people and to enjoy each other’s company, and Haven is what each new member makes it.

Alongside wide-ranging chat, we discuss and deal with gifted-specific issues like twice exceptionalities, emotional and social concerns, and education.

If you’re a gifted teen, we understand. No matter how strange things seem, we understand. We’ve seen enough similar stuff before. No promises we’ll all be tactful and sensitive, but give us the chance, and maybe give something of yourself to us, so

Stay. Connect. Learn more about what it means to be Gifted, and more about yourself.”

http://www.giftedhaven.net/

This entry was posted in Socialization Opportunities for Gifted Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gifted Haven: Online Forum for Gifted Teens

  1. Levi Gray says:

    Is this still a thing? Whenever I click on the link I get weird error messages. I would love to be a part of a community like this if it still exists.

    • giftedinmichigan says:

      Sorry about that! I see the link no longer works. I changed it to something that seems to be a spinoff of Gifted Haven, but it does not seem to have as much activity as the old group. I have sent a question to the moderator of this “spinoff” group and will let you know what kind of response I get. Thanks for pointing this error out.

  2. Levi Gray says:

    Well, looks like the last post on that page is from 2011. I’ve been looking for a forum like that for a long time, and I’ve never found it. I guess I might as well just start it myself so all the other lonely kids will have someplace to go. (:

    • giftedinmichigan says:

      That would be a great idea!  I also tried to contact the owner of the forum at this new link, and my message was bounced back.  If you do manage to create a forum like this, please let me know and I’ll be glad to publicize on this website as well as my other channels.  Thanks!

      ________________________________

  3. Synth says:

    I was on GH for a while, unfortunately after 2011 it seemed most of the core group had “aged out” (I myself am now 20, as opposed to the 14 year old I was when I first began to use the forums). Start a new forum and rekindle the magic! Unfortunately the old site has been taken down due to lack of financing.

    Bon chance future havenite! 🙂

  4. Silvia says:

    We need to make another one, I need an active forum/community like this.

    • giftedinmichigan says:

      If you do start another one, you could publicize it many places these days to attract members. I’d be glad to publicize on my site, and you could also lookup the major legit facebook groups that center their themes around gifted. For example, International Gifted Education, NAGC (National Association for Gifted Children), Mensa, etc.

Leave a Reply

